A Day in the Life…

I love my children! I really do! BUT they do everything in their power to test the limits of my patience and anybody who knows me knows I have very little patience. It’s past their bedtime and I just managed to get them in the bed. And now…now I’m hiding out in the bathroom.

I can hear my girls on the other side of the wall in the bedroom. They are chit chatting and giggling about God knows what. I really want to tell at them to shut up and go to sleep but I swear on my life this is the first time all day long that they have gotten along. Why now? Why when you’re supposed to be asleep?

I really think they just like to watch me suffer. I think they enjoy the twisted facial expressions I make when I’m trying not to cuss my 8 and 10 year old daughters. My son, who is 14, has even had enough of their arguments. They torture us on purpose. Why?

I’ll tell you why. They do it for the pure enjoyment of it. They love the thrill of seeing how far they can push before mom flips out and loses it. I swear I can hear the two of them plotting in silence…I can read it on their little angelic faces. Make no mistake…they are no angels. Demons maybe but definitely not angels. (Kidding…kinda)

Being a mom is hard work! It ain’t for sissies that’s for sure! I have a love-hate relationship with being a mom.  It’s tough man! Really tough! I am pushed to my breaking point every single day. I fight with small versions of myself daily. I get hit on and kicked and yelled at. I get evil eyes more times a day than I can count. At the end of the day, I feel like I’ve gone 50 rounds with a dump truck. I’m told over and over again that I’m the meanest mom in the world. I take it as a compliment though. I must be doing something right if I’m the meanest mom in the world because I expect my kids to show respect and I won’t allow anything less. I expect them appreciate one another. I have rules and I enforce them. I tell my kids no and mean it. I tell them to stop arguing and they know I’m serious. They still push because they are kids and that’s what kids do. They know that mom will not tolerate the foolishness. They know my expressions. They know “the look”. You know what look I’m talking about. Every mom has it. The “one more word and I may just snap and injure you” look. They know I would never injure them but the look gets their attention. They straighten up for about 5 minutes…long enough for me to catch my breath and get ready for the next round.

More important than the look, they know I love them and I know they love me. We fuss and fight because we are family and nobody gets along with people they spend all their time with all the time. That’s not reality. Anybody that tells you different, well, they’re just full of it in my opinion.

It just occurred to me that I’m still hiding in the bathroom and they are quiet. I’m going to pray that they are asleep when I open the door to the bathroom so I can get in bed myself.

Leave a Reply

